Brian's Capsule Reviews

Short reviews of films

Horrible Bosses (2011)

IMDb Listing
Why did I go see this? I found myself asking just that question as I was watching it. There are a lot of actors in this (Jason Bateman, Kevin Spacey, Colin Farrell) that I just don’t like, and it had received its fair share of negative reviews. But nonetheless I found myself sitting there, and not particularly enjoying the movie. It’s about three tools (Bateman, Charlie Day, and Jason Sudeikis) who hate their bosses and decide to kill them off, with each one taking care of someone else’s boss to, I don’t know, throw the police off their tracks. They get the idea from Hitchcock’s Strangers on a Train, but of course that movie was about total strangers making a deal to murder the someone for the other. It might work for total strangers but not for a group of best friends … anyway, having established the premise, the movie does nothing with it, killing time with dumb scenes of “research” and a lot of listless scenes of Spacey and Jennifer Aniston (as two of the three bosses) that made me wonder whether an actual script had been written beforehand. It’s not that the movie is completely unfunny, but the sparse laughs just don’t make up for the complete lack of craftsmanship in the film and the general unpleasantness that watching it entails. 4/10

July 21, 2011 - Posted by | Gordon, Seth

No comments yet.

Leave a comment